Women's College World Series - WCWS - 2007

Congratulations to Arizona, the NCAA WCWS (Women's College World Series) 2007 winner. They also won last year.

They had to go through the Regionals (only 16 teams out of the 64 that started moved on), the Super Regionals, and getting past the other 7 winners (Washington, DePaul, Arizona St., Northwestern, Texas A&M, Tennessee, and Baylor) at the World Series. Then had to defeat Tennessee twice in the championship series to secure the crown. They lost the first game, took 10 innings to win the second, before coming away with the 5-0 win for the championship.

To arrive at the Women's College World Series a team has to have been one of 64 selected, then has to win one of the 16 regionals. Those winners play in 8 super regionals creating the 8 teams that were at the world series.

Outside of watching the Olympic team or national team play, this was the best women's softball on TV until the pros play.

If you play fastpitch yourself or are interested because you know people who do, have them check out my hitting newsletter at the bottom of the page.

In the WCWS tournament there were two distinctive hitting styles. I have how to hit in both styles documented in this website. For more information about the different styles of softball hitting, go here.

To read more on the WCWS go to ESPN"s site.

To stay current with the best information on hitting for fastpitch softball I know you'll find my hitting newsletter very helpful. Sign up below.

Enter your E-mail Address
Enter your First Name (optional)

Don't worry — your e-mail address is totally secure.
I promise to use it only to send you Coach Andy's Hitting E-zine.